Community Channel UK360 filming day 2+3

The second day of filming for the VisAbility piece was at Gweek village hall, opposite the National Seal Sanctuary.  This was another transport challenge as I took 2 buses which took about 1 1/2 hours each way!  (for what in the car is about 20 minutes!)  This in itself highlights the further isolation for the VisAbility members who come from as far as Lands End and Truro.

I had another successful filming session and was greeted by many friendly people who were great fun.  I filmed the bowls session and conducted a few interviews. I had less time and there were many more people than on the first day in Redruth. The main challenge here was a suitable place to do the interviews.

Also I was unable to have time to set up the position of the chair and framing of the shots as some of the interviewees were helped in by a volunteer and being totally blind I didn’t want to totally move them around the room after just meeting them and didn’t really have the time to do this.  Sound again was tricky as the sound carried from the main hall and kitchen but we got by!

The final filming session was back at The Elms in Redruth and was with a smaller group who are doing a radio project which is part of a Media Trust project.  It really was fantastic to see and learn about this and the members were having lots of laughs and fun with it.  I managed to capture some great scenes from the radio drama which I will be using in the final piece for the Community Channel!

One of the members of VisAbility was really interesting and great to chat to and told me about all of his activities and achievements.  Ruben Daniel is totally blind and as well as having written a book and helping on the radio script he has written a number of poems.  I managed to capture one on film which I thought was really lovely for summing up some of the challenges and feelings of someone who has no sight.  I have included the poem below with some images of the different VisAbility groups in action.

Read about how the project came about here.

Read about day 1 filming here.

Read about editing here.

Read about the final piece here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment